Brigadeiro

Creamy chocolatey melt in your mouth truffles. I overcooked mine so it turned closer to dulce de leche or a milk caramel but it was delicious.
IMG_20150723_133618I’ve neglected this blog for a while now and I’m not sure if I’ll commit or not still. I do enjoy baking, cooking, and sharing but a blog platform may not be for me. That being said, I’d still like to post whatever drafts I’ve been working on and off. I’m taking a very brief little cool down period as I’ve been feeling burned out recently. There’s still about 1 month left till the end of this summer semester and I just finished my last midterm. I’m even more unsure of what I truly want to do with my future though I have a plan to follow if I don’t figure it out in the mean time. It’s a little stressful not finding time, nor having a proper place + equipment to bake at my current residence, but that’s alright. One moment at a time 🙂

I made these after my beautiful friend, T-a Brazilian international student, told me about brigadeiro. Though she said she would make this for M and I, she never got around to it so I thought I’d make it myself. She and M aren’t big fans of chocolate (namely chocolate bars), however, T said this was one of her favourite chocolate desserts. I completely get why, it’s sweet, soft, melt in your mouth, and ridiculously easy to make. The sprinkles add a nice crunchy texture, though you would achieve the same effect with nuts or toasted coconut.00003404.2The tin was a find at my town’s flea market that my friend bargained with the seller for me, I think she reduced it to 50 cents or a dollar :’) I’m quite fond of flea markets actually, I have quite a bit of memories going there with my family in my childhood.00003416This recipe is super simple and great for snacking, parties, and general events. In my opinion, don’t make the portions too big as they are quite sweet. In fact, a small sprinkle of salt in the mix would do some good. I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did!

Brigadeiro

Yield: ~20 balls

Ingredients

    • 3 tablespoons dutch processed cocoa powder
    • 14 ounces sweetened condensed milk
    • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
Topping Options
  • chocolate sprinkles
  • shredded coconut
  • crushed oreo’s
  • rainbow sprinkles

Instructions

  1. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, combine cocoa powder, butter and condensed milk.
  2. Cook, stirring occasionally for 10 minutes. The consistency should be thick after cooking. Remove the saucepan from the heat and let the mixture rest until cool enough to touch.
  3. Scoop the mixture into small balls, about 3/4 inch in diameter, and roll in the topping of your preference. Chill before serving.

Notes: Be careful not to over cook it as I accidentally did; it became closer to dulce de leche with a light caramel taste.
I topped some with a heart sprinkle.

Source recipe: http://whatsgabycooking.com/brigadeiro/?utm_source=What#.U5mq-C_6d6g00002105

Leave a Reply

