Morning glory muffins (w/ pineapple)

Hearty and lightly spiced carrot and pineapple muffins.

Not my cup of tea. Or so I thought. I didn’t really like these muffins in general when I first tasted them. Maybe it was the pineapples or because I found them a bit bland.

However, after leaving them for a several hours because I was too lazy to store them I ate another one for the sake of wanting to get rid of them and surprisingly the taste grew on me a bit. The pineapple wasn’t as strong, and the crumb was more together and heartier.

IMG_20160426_100558782
If I make them again, I’d likely up the cinnamon by another 1/2 tsp and add 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I still don’t think they’re super memorable, but they aren’t mediocre either. Just decent muffins imo.

To be fair, I did make adjustments so I can’t blame the original recipe too much. My can of pineapple was measured in 14 liquid oz and such ml, so I wasn’t sure about the 8oz can required. I just ended up weighing out ~8ish oz of pineapple and juice into my bowl and hoping it was accurate. I also didn’t have raisins so I just left it out altogether.IMG_20160426_102655879I also did about 100 ml of oil and added milk until it reached the 1/2 cup marker on my measuring cup.

IMG_20160426_103415652Since I did make a few adjustments I can’t hold it against the original recipe, so try it out yourself if you’d like and hopefully you enjoy it!

Morning Glory Muffins
Yield: 18 muffins
Ingredients
♣ 2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
♣ 2/3 cup granulated sugar
♣ 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
♣ 1/2 tsp baking powder
♣ 1 tsp ground cinnamon
♣ 3/4 tsp salt
♣ 1/2 cup vegetable oil
♣ 3 large eggs
♣ 1 8-ounce can crushed pineapple, undrained
♣ 3 large carrots, shredded (~1 1/2 cups)
♣ 1/2 cup raisins
♣ 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
♣ Turbinado sugar, for sprinkling on top of the muffins, optional

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line 18 standard muffin tin cups with paper liners (or grease muffin pan).

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, beat the oil, eggs, and pineapple. Add the flour mixture and beat until just combined. Using a spatula, stir in the carrots, raisins and coconut. Scoop the batter into the prepared muffin cups, filling each three-quarters full. Sprinkle with turbinado sugar, if using (I did).

Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean, about 18-20 minutes. Transfer the muffins to a wire rack and let cool. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Notes:
The muffins will keep in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 days. You can also freeze them for up to 1 month.
Minis will take ~10-12 minutes. I made exactly 12 standard size and 24 minis.

Recipe source: http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/morning-glory-muffins/ via Andie Mitchell’s Eating in the Middle

Leave a Reply

